Experience IT

Hello Everyone! This is my first attempt at blog, I hope you like it. In this article I have shared some of my personal experiences with IT and also written about the history and need of IT from my point of view.

In India we have to appear for an entrance exam to join engineering. Based on the exam scores you get to choose your engineering college and course. I finished my exams and was waiting for the admission counselling to start. In the mean time I was gathering information about various engineering colleges and different engineering fields (it would help me to choose a college and course). That’s when I came across IT as an option.

I went through the course content of IT and Computer Science engineering; it all looked the same to me. There were similar subjects to study for both the courses. I was a bit confused; if they teach same subjects (except for a few) then why have different branches. Frankly speaking to me Computer Science looked more engineering than IT, may be because of the non-technical subjects that were included in the IT curriculum. Anyway I did not really go too much into details because I was not interested in any of them and chose mechanical.

After the completion of my mechanical engineering I ended up in an IT firm. I was kind of in a problem because I knew the technical stuff but what I did not know was “What the IT industry does?” I did know that we had to build applications, manage databases, etc, but I never really had the big picture. As I gained experience in the industry I realised that what we actually did was, we helped businesses produce, store, manage, process and analyse data. All this was done using computer technology. The system that includes hardwares, softwares, databases and people forms an Information System.

If we try to trace back the history of IT, the information technology seems to precede the invention of the computer. The abacus, used by Asians, Egyptians, Romans, and the Greek can be termed a source of information technology. The first mechanical calculators introduced by Napier and later developed by Wilhelm Schickard, also come under the heading of information technology. Another example would be punch card machines, expanded upon by IBM in the early to mid 1900’s. Even though information technology has a long reach into history, only recently has it been associated with the use of computers.

With time the computing machines developed. More and more sophisticated machines are being built to improve the speed and accuracy of data management and processing. Today, Information Technology departments use computers, servers, databases, specialized software applications and more. The IT department is managed by system and database administrators, an Information Technology Manager and other department heads, including a Chief Information Officer (CIO).

Whether computers are advantageous or not is a never ending debate. But, computers have definitely become a very important part of our life. We use it for almost everything. Reading news in the morning, office work and watching TV in the evening, all are being done using computer these days. Even businesses have realized the potential of using IT and are investing money in IT to gain competitive advantage over the competitors. Whether it actually gives an advantage or not is a different issue.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Preetham on April 19, 2010 at 7:08 am

    The author has covered the topic well with a good introduction and a good look at the historical perspective… the author has looked at the opinion from all points of view and given a fair opinion and judgement on the topic..

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rajesh on April 19, 2010 at 7:23 am

    Dear Ashwin,

    Good to know you started Blogging, and the First topic you have choosen is pretty Good. As I am currently in 5nd Year of My Engineering course. These type of articles will be helpful for Me .
    Looking forward for some more good Articles from you which help me
    Rajesh.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sonia on April 20, 2010 at 4:29 am

    Hi Ashwin

    I dint know you could blog as well. 🙂
    It was nice reading through the blog , going through it it reminded me of my first year of engineering we had covered on the basics of IT and evolution of IT.
    looking forward to reading other of your blogs

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rohi on April 20, 2010 at 6:04 am

    Hi Ashwin,

    Your blog actually tells about the way we had a picture about computers/IT during the college days.
    I appreciate the way you have put up the historic Stuff. Like to c more articles going forward.

    3 cheers 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by shankar on April 20, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Ashwin,
    good coverage… keep it up.

    Cheers
    Shankar Reddy

    Reply

  6. Posted by Satish on April 21, 2010 at 5:13 am

    Hi Ashwin,

    Nice Coverage in your first Blog.
    You have really covered the Basics and the Evolution of IT.
    Keep it up.

    Good Luck
    Satish

    Reply

  7. Posted by Ajosh on April 21, 2010 at 5:15 am

    Dear Ashwin,

    The blog is giving insight into what most of us had gone through our 4 years of engineering and then choosing a job… Well great blog.. keep it coming..

    Reply

  8. Posted by Santosh Kumar on April 21, 2010 at 5:30 am

    Hi Ashwin.

    I doubt if this is your first blog 🙂
    I like the way you differentiated the IT with engineering.

    cheers,
    santosh

    Reply

  9. Posted by Vinay Sudhakaran on April 22, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Nice writeup…. you’ve cleared some of the fundamental confusion which people usually have between Computer “SCIENCE” and “Information Technology”. These 2 are so different but b’coz of the interlink people tend to confuse one with the other especially while choosing the branch at the CET center..!! 🙂

    Keep writing…

    Reply

  10. Posted by johntheripper on April 23, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Good work !!! Leads me towards to dig on more towards the history and evolution of computers !!!! But i guess in India IT is an vital part of engineering students & first career choice !!!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Kunal on May 1, 2010 at 7:11 am

    hey ashwin, Blog’s lookin good…like the part where u traced back to its origins, would love to hear bout some current stuff as well…modern IT success stories Google, Apple etc.
    Keep it up man,
    Cheers!!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment